A love letter to Achilles

Where is my beloved Achilles

I seek out his very touch.

I sought him out on high Mt Pelion

&  the depths of the sea.

Where is my beloved Achilles

The man I search,  for me.

He would be strong of body and heart

Muscles gleaning in the Sun

With swift legs that carry him through  plains, the forest

and the battlefield.

That carry him to me.

Defts hands that play the lyre

Wield a sword

and Wield me.

Eyes blue as the Sky itself

in which I see my own reflection as he holds  me tight

Holds me so tight that nothing can come between us.

We share each other’s breath

as one.

I watch him as he sleeps

tracing each muscle with my hand

his chest rising and falling in the rhythm of his sleep

Committing his beauty to memory

Knowing that I can only have him as my own

for but a while.

Where is my man that would be my beloved Achilles

the one whose touch I long to feel

I have sought him out on high Mt Pelion

& in the depths of the Sea.

I have but glanced at his face in my dreams

The one, the Achilles, out there for me.

Achilles and Patroklos. Red-figure kylix by the Sosias Painter, c. 500 B.C. in the Staatliche museum in Berlin.

Achilles and Patroklos. Red-figure kylix by the Sosias Painter, c. 500 B.C. in the Staatliche museum in Berlin.

This entry was posted in Personal, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A love letter to Achilles

Leave a Reply

