Isis’ Promise

Thou shalt live blessed in this world, thou shalt live glorious by mu guide and protection, and when after thy allotted space of life thou decendest to the Underworld, there thou shald see me in the subterranena firmament shining (as thou seest me now) in the darkness of Acheron, and reigning in the deep profundity of Styx, and thou shalt worship me as one that hath been favourable to thee. And if I perceive that thou art obedient to My commandment and hold to my religion, meriting by thy constant chastity my divine grace, know that I alone may prolong thy days above the time that the Fates have appointed and ordained…

 

Apuleius, The Golden Ass.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

