Number 1

Ok. So.

The idea of starting a blog has been with me for the past – hmmm like 12 months. But I thought and felt that it was a little crazy starting something without being able to fully commit to it. See for the past 4 years I have been at Law School. Law School* officially ended for me today having handed in my final assessment. Assuming that I:

a)      past all of this semester’s subjects, and’

b)      pay my outstanding library fine (not too large)

then technically, as of the 29th of November, I can call myself a graduand of the law school that I have attended for the past four years.

It has been quiet an underwhelming experience. Placing that last assessment in the ‘assessment shoot’ at the Law school didn’t really encapsulate the last 4 years that I have spent at that place. It has been a love/hate relationship. It has technically been the only relationship I have had that has been consistent and…well ‘there.’ Law school has a tendency of overtaking every aspect of life, and it surely did mine. This was exacerbated by the fact that I have worked part time and at times full time during the process. As a ‘mature-aged’ JD student, I didn’t have the luxury of living at home with mama and papa and have all my expenses paid for….

The Truth is that for the past four years I have felt that like I have been in a state of suspended animation. Life and my friends (the ones that are left) have moved forward, past me, while I remained in the same place that I was back at the end of 2008 when, after finishing my Honours thesis in a completely unrelated subject, decided to complete a law degree. Don’t get me wrong. I have amassed a wealth of knowledge and understanding in the last four years, that I don’t yet fully comprehend. I have learnt a lot about the world, and my place in it. But at what cost? I feel like though the scholastic aspects of me have developed, others, like my emotional intelligence, my spirituality, and my connection with other sentient beings, has been pushed to the wayside.

I guess that is why I think it adept to commence a blog now. For one I will have time, and though I have spent the better part of the last 4 years sitting at this desk at my computer, at least now, it will be for something a little more enjoyable than trying to ascertain whether a legitimate contract has been breached, and if so, what the adequate remedy is……

But this blog wont be about me bitching about law school. It will actually be about my spiritual path. Ok so here is the weird (sort of) bit. I’m actually a pagan. Yep. A pagan (ex) law school student, soon to be a pagan law graduate, soon to be pagan law graduate working a big commercial law firm here in Sydney. Kind of random…..Even more random is the fact that I am a follower of the Great Isis, and Lord Dionysos. To some it won’t make sense. It didn’t make sense to me either when I felt the call of the gods about 3 months ago. However in my sporadic travels through the internet I have discovered a vast community of pagans, polytheist, dirty heathens – call them what you will, that I suddenly didn’t feel so weird anymore.

I want this blog to be a place where I can share my spiritual travels with other randoms out there and hopefully a community – as much as one can via the internets.

Exciting times ahead…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

